HOUSING FINANCE AUTHORITY OF LEON COUNTY TRAVEL POLICY

SECTION I: AUTHORITY

Florida Statutes, Section 112.061.

SECTION II: OBJECTIVE

To establish regulations and procedures governing the HFALC Board and other authorized persons where travel in furtherance of HFALC business is necessary and reimbursement is requested.

SECTION III: DEFINITIONS

<u>Authorized Traveler</u> - A person, including but not limited to a member of the HFALC Board or an employee or contractor of the HFALC, who is expressly authorized by the HFALC Board to incur travel expenses in the performance of the HFALC's official duties.

County – Leon County, Florida.

<u>HFALC</u> – The Housing Finance Authority of Leon County ("HFALC").

<u>HFALC Board</u> – The governing body of the HFALC.

<u>Official Headquarters</u> – Tallahassee, Florida, or the Official Headquarters as otherwise established pursuant to section 112.061(4), Florida Statutes.

Travel Day – A period of 24 hours consisting of four quarters of 6 hours each.

Travel Period – A period of time between the time of departure and time of return.

Treasurer – The Treasurer of the HFALC.

SECTION IV: SCOPE AND APPLICABILITY

Travel expenses shall be limited to those expenses necessarily incurred in the performance of a public purpose authorized by law to be performed by the HFALC and must be within limitations described herein and in section 112.061, Florida Statutes. All travel shall be expressly authorized in advance by the HFALC Board.

SECTION V: EXCEPTIONS

Any exceptions or unusual circumstances not provided for in this policy must be documented and will be subject to review and approval by the HFALC Board.

SECTION VI: TYPES OF TRAVEL

- A. <u>Class "A" Travel</u>: continuous travel for a Travel Period of 24 hours or more away from Official Headquarters.
- B. <u>Class "B" Travel</u>: continuous travel for a Travel Period of less than 24 hours that involves overnight absences from Official Headquarters.
- C. <u>Class "C" Travel</u>: travel for short or day trips where the traveler is not away from his or her Official Headquarters overnight.
- D. <u>Local Mileage</u>: travel of less than 24 hours in which the traveler is not away from Official Headquarters overnight, and which involves the use of a privately owned vehicle for official business within the County and/or the surrounding counties and for which no meal reimbursements are claimed.

SECTION VII: TRAVEL AUTHORIZATION

All travel shall be conducted pursuant to authorized annual budget allocations. Prior to incurring any travel expense for which reimbursement or prepayment is requested, a Travel Request form must be approved and authorized by the HFALC Board.

SECTION VIII: TRAVEL PAYMENT

Prepayment

Whenever possible, travel-related expenses that are capable of being purchased in advance such as airline tickets, lodging, car rental or registration fees (if allowed), shall be prepaid from HFALC funds in advance, upon approval by the HFALC Board. Once travel is approved by the HFALC Board, the traveler may prepay the same by use of the HFALC credit card. The HFALC Administrator shall calculate the anticipated allowable per diem for such approved travel, and at the request of the traveler, such amount may be paid in advance to the traveler. The traveler shall submit expense reports detailing such prepaid travel, and any overages or underpayments shall be settled up with the HFALC Administrator within 30 days.

Reimbursement of Travel Expenses

All authorized travel expenses not prepaid shall be subject to reimbursement as provided in this section.

Within thirty (30) days of completing authorized travel, all Authorized Travelers must file a Travel Expense Report form. The Travel Expense Report should reflect the entire cost of the trip, including all prepaid expenses made, and shall contain receipts reflecting all expenditures for which reimbursement is sought. If a receipt is not available, an affidavit of the expense explanation must be prepared and included with the Travel Expense Report. The traveler must sign and date the Travel Expense Report form for completeness and correctness as to the actual travel performed, and submit such form to the Treasurer or his/her designee.

Further, a copy of the meeting/conference/convention/training agenda, when one is provided, must be attached to the Travel Expense Report. When one is not provided, this should be indicated on the form.

Any changes or additions to the cost of the travel made after the Travel Request form was approved must be explained on the Travel Expense Report form.

SECTION IX: ALLOWABLE TRAVEL EXPENSES

A. Meals and Lodging: Class "A" and Class "B" Travel

- 1. Travel outside the County/State in order to conduct bona fide HFALC business shall be reimbursed by the following methods for each Travel Day, at the option of the traveler, provided that the same method of reimbursement is used to calculate each Travel Day (i.e., the entire trip will be either based on the per diem rate or based on actual expenses plus meal allowances):
 - a. Daily Per Diems: the most current standard federal government (General Services Administration, GSA) per diem rate to include both lodging and meals; or
 - b. The actual expenses for lodging at a single occupancy rate, to be substantiated by paid bills. However, if the Authorized Traveler chooses a form of lodging where a paid bill is not applicable, the standard Continental United States (CONUS) per diem rate will apply. The GSA per diem rate is not applicable unless the traveler chooses lodging in which costs are incurred, and can be substantiated by a paid bill or receipt.
 - c. Meal expenditures will be reimbursed according to the most current federal government General Services Administration (GSA) per diem meal rates. The GSA provides for differential rates depending upon the location of travel. This approach recognizes the cost differential between various counties, cities, and states.
 - For counties and cities not included in the GSA list, the standard CONUS rate applies and the traveler is ineligible for the daily per diem rate.
 - d. The following times shall be used to determine when meal reimbursements may be claimed:
 - Breakfast: when travel begins prior to 6:00 a.m. and extends beyond 8:00 a.m.
 - Lunch: when travel begins prior to noon and extends beyond 2:00 p.m.

- Dinner: when travel begins prior to 6:00 p.m. and extends beyond 8:00 p.m.
- 2. When claiming the standard CONUS per diem rate for Class "A" or "B" travel including meal reimbursements, the Authorized Traveler shall be reimbursed one-fourth of the standard CONUS rate of per diem and meal allowances for each quarter, or fraction thereof, of the Travel Day included within this Travel Period. No receipts are required. The Travel Day is divided into the following quarters:
 - 12:01 a.m. to 6:00 a.m.
 - 6:01 a.m. to 12:00 noon
 - 12:01 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
 - 6:01 p.m. to 12:00 midnight
- 3. Under no circumstances may an Authorized Traveler be reimbursed for any meal or lodging included in convention or conference registration fees paid by the HFALC. A continental breakfast provided as part of the conference/convention registration fee is considered breakfast and may not be claimed for reimbursement. An evening reception or other function that serves only hors d'oeuvres are not considered dinner and may be claimed for reimbursement. However, should the conference/convention registration fee include the provision of any lunches or dinners, these meals may not be claimed for reimbursement.
- 4. When a meal is provided by a hotel, airline, other common carrier, or as a part of a program/event, the traveler is not allowed to claim the meal for reimbursement.
- 5. Reimbursement for lodging expense is limited to single occupancy or occupancy shared with another HFALC traveler. Cost of lodging shared with a non-official or non-employee (e.g., family members) is limited to the single room rate.
- 6. When lodging, transportation, and/or meals are paid or provided by any federal, state, or other local governmental agency, no further expenses will be reimbursed. However, if the governmental agency's per diem rate is less than the applicable rate according to the GSA Schedule utilized by the HFALC, the employee will be reimbursed for the difference.

B. Class "C" Travel

An Authorized Traveler shall not be reimbursed on a per diem basis for Class "C" travel, but shall receive subsistence as follows:

- 1. Breakfast: 20% rounded to the nearest dollar of the GSA meal allowance when travel begins before 6:00 a.m. and extends beyond 8:00 a.m.
- 2. Lunch: 30% rounded to the nearest dollar of the GSA meal allowance when travel begins before 12:00 noon and extends beyond 2:00p.m.

3. Dinner: 50% rounded to the nearest dollar of the GSA meal allowance – when travel begins before 6:00 p.m. and extends beyond 8:00 p.m., or when travel occurs during nighttime hours due to special assignment.

C. Transportation

All transportation-related expenses incurred by an Authorized Traveler shall be either prepaid or subject to reimbursement as provided in this section.

All travel must be by a usually traveled route. If a person travels by an indirect route for his/her own convenience, any extra costs shall be borne by the traveler and reimbursement for expenses shall be based only on such charges as would have been incurred by a usually traveled route. No person shall be reimbursed for transportation from home to office, office to home, or to or from the point of travel departure.

- 1. <u>Air</u> Coach fare, by the route and/or rate best suited for the interest of the HFALC, is allowed and must be documented by a paid receipt. Should an Authorized Traveler select a different route and/or rate, for his or her own benefit, reimbursement will be limited to the Coach fare, by the route and/or rate, determined by what is in the best interest of the HFALC. Reimbursement of first class airfare is specifically limited to trips under emergency conditions when coach accommodations are not available. In those instances where an electronic airline ticket was purchased, documentation should include a copy of the Authorized Traveler's itinerary, identifying the purchase of the airline ticket, or a separate paid receipt for the airline ticket.
- 2. <u>Private Vehicle</u> Use of a private car for travel is authorized when approved on the Travel Request form. A traveler using his/her privately owned vehicle would be reimbursed at the most current IRS rate in effect on the date(s) of travel. All mileage shall be shown from point of origin to point of destination, and included with the travel request form. Road and bridge tolls may be claimed in addition to mileage upon presentation of receipts. Vicinity mileage necessary for the conduct of official business is allowable but must be listed separately on the reimbursement request and the purpose explained.
- 3. <u>Train or Bus</u> Travelers must use the most economical accommodations on short trips, not involving overnight travel. On longer trips, travelers are entitled to comfortable single accommodations. However, in no case will reimbursement exceed the rate of Coach fare for air travel to the destination.
- 4. <u>Taxi, Limousine, Public Transportation, Parking, and Car Rental</u> The actual costs incurred for normal use of taxi, limousine, public transportation, and parking are reimbursable. Receipts are not required for reimbursement of parking, taxi, limousine, and public transportation costs that are less than \$20.00 per traveler per trip. "Per trip" shall be the trip authorized in the Travel Request form not each ride in public transportation. When these items cumulatively exceed \$20.00 during

the duration of the travel, receipts are required to document the full amount. In those cases where receipts are not available (i.e., mass transit tokens) reimbursement may still be sought with an explanation of the circumstances attached to the Travel Expense Report.

Car rental expenses, including the cost of fuel, are reimbursable but only when prior approval is obtained on the Travel Request form and a receipt is attached.

D. Telephone and Fax

Only the cost of business calls and faxes with a stated business purpose are reimbursable.

E. Registration Fees

Fees for registration, including meals and other programmed events sponsored by the conference or convention organization, should be prepaid wherever possible. Optional fees for recreation and/or entertainment activities associated with a conference or convention are not reimbursable. Fees for non-HFALC Authorized Travelers (e.g., family members) to participate in activities are not reimbursable.

F. Miscellaneous

Any other necessary expense, not otherwise provided for but incurred for the benefit of the HFALC, must appear together and be identified on the Travel Expense Report form. Other miscellaneous gratuities for the hotel, taxis, the airport, porters, etc. should be identified here. The amount should be reasonable and, whenever possible, the Authorized Traveler should obtain and attach receipts to the expense report to substantiate miscellaneous expenditures.

SECTION X: LOCAL MILEAGE REIMBURSEMENT

Reimbursement for local mileage or Class "C" travel millage involving the use of the employee's vehicle shall be submitted on the Travel Expense Report form and shall specify:

- the date of the travel,
- the origin,
- the destination,
- the number of miles traveled,
- the purpose of the travel, and
- the amount requested for reimbursement.

If the expenses being requested for reimbursement pertain to use of a privately owned vehicle, the reimbursement amount is calculated by multiplying the number of miles traveled by the most current IRS mileage allowance. No receipts are required. Additionally, Authorized Travelers who utilize their personal vehicles shall be reimbursed for actual expenses related to tolls incurred while traveling, with receipts or other documentation to be attached to the Travel Expense Report. If the expenses being requested for reimbursement pertain to use of a rental vehicle, receipts for actual expenses for fuel or tolls must be attached.

Travel Policy HFALC Policy No. 1

The Local Mileage Reimbursement form shall be submitted monthly. The Local Mileage Reimbursement Form must be signed by the employee requesting the reimbursement and the appropriate department head or his designee.

SECTION XI: PROCESSING OF TRAVEL EXPENSE REPORTS

All Travel Expense Report forms shall be submitted to, processed, and approved by the Treasurer. Authorized Travelers shall be reimbursed for all reimbursable expenses appearing on their Travel Report Forms within thirty (30) days of approval by the Treasurer.

In the event the Treasurer has questions or concerns regarding the legitimacy of any expenses appearing on a Travel Expense Report, the Treasurer shall forward the Travel Expense Report to the HFALC Board, which shall have final approval authority over the matter.

Approved by the Housing Finance Authority of Le	on County on the 11th day of Janaury, 2018
	Thomas Lewis, Chairman